Salvation Army of the Midlands

 Doing the Most Good.
  • Quicklinks

 Your gift makes a difference. Donate Now.
  • Find a Center
  • Enter your zip code to find your nearest Salvation Army.
ABC Columbia

ABC Columbia is our media sponsor for the Angel Tree program.


WLTX is our television sponsor for Stuff-A-Bus.

Emergency Disaster Services

Emergency Disaster Services


The Salvation Army was founded in 1865 by William Booth, in London, England. The Salvation Army established a corps in Columbia, SC, in 1906 and has been serving people living in extreme poverty in the Midlands for more than 100 years. 

Salvation Army hat

The Salvation Army, as an international movement, is an evangelical part of the universal Christian church. Its message is based on the Bible. Its ministry is motivated by the love of God. Its mission is to preach the gospel of Jesus Christ and to meet human needs in His name without discrimination.

Social Services programs provided by The Salvation Army focus on those living in the most extreme poverty in the Midlands.  We work daily with those who are homeless and offer several homeless prevention initiatives.  From serving daily meals to providing Christmas toys to families in need, The Salvation Army reaches out to those in our community who need assistance.

The Salvation Army offers church activities and worship services in Irmo and downtown Columbia.  We openly welcome all people to join in Christian fellowship.

The Salvation Army is fortunate and grateful to have the following men and women serving on its Advisory Board.

Board Chairman: Fenton Overdyke

Vice Chairman: David Wells

Treasurer: Denise Gunter Hudson

Secretary: Ron Roe

Advisory Board: Steve Anastasion, Ross Bagley, Tyler Baldwin, Michael Beal, Sterling Beale, Charlotte Berry, Emily Brady, Marty Bridges, John Cloyd, Neal Coyle, Joseph Dickey, John W. Dingle, JT Gandolfo,  Ellen Hayden, David Jordan, Christopher Lindsay, Whit Moore, Gordon Peters, Terry Povey, Elliott Powell, Harrison Rearden, Robert Reibold, Ben Rex, Keely Saye, Wayne Smith, Bud Tibshrany, Julian Walker, William Witherspoon

Emeritus Members: Robert Lee Blanton, Jr., Alice Boyle, Cantey Heath, Tom Hughes, Michael Kapp, Bill Rogers, Bob Russell, Jr.

Life Members: Lucien Bruno, Bob Fuller, Edwin Robertson, John C.B. Smith, Reece Williams

Click here to read the most recent Mission in the Midlands newsletter.

Click here to view the 2013 Fiscal Year Impact Report.

Click here to view the 2012 Fiscal Year Impact Report.

Click here to view the 2011 Fiscal Year Impact Report. 

Click here to read a previous Mission in the Midlands newsletter.